Rumors on the internets etc…

There have been rumors on teh interwebs today that presumptive GOP presidential nominee Mitt Romney will be picking Gen. David Petraeus as his running mate.

I’m not sure what I think about that. Politically, I think it’s a slam dunk except for people who will view Petraeus as yet another carryover and reminder of the G.W. Bush years. I have no plans to vote for Romney as it is and if I did, his choosing Gen. Petraeus wouldn’t affect how I’d vote. I dunno. I’m personally satisfied with the job that President Obama has done. He came in when things were tanking – and tanking quickly – and got the ball rolling on getting the economy back on its feet. This wasn’t ever going to be an easy process and with matters in Europe probably getting worse, it’s going to remain a daunting challenge, regardless of who is in the Oval Office. I trust that the President will continue developing policies at the Washington-level in order to get the economy rolling and gradually roll back the direct influence the government has in business while maintaining regulations that keep a balance and prevent the irrational exuberance – to use the Greenspan turn of phrase – of the previous decade that led to our current crunch from happening again.

Okay, I’m off my soapbox with regards to the economy and the presidential election.

I love Blacksburg. This Friday and Saturday was the annual street festival Steppin’ Out, featuring music, food, local organizations, and local merchants and artisans. Despite the rain on Saturday, I thoroughly enjoyed being in the crowd of people taking all that the town has to offer. After living in Athens, Georgia, which prides itself on being a very progressive and closely-knit community, I was afraid of being let down. Instead, I was blown away by the number of people and sheer number of stalls jammed into downtown. It can’t be said enough: it was awesome and I’m looking forward to next year’s!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

